top of page
  • Mrs.C

Together, but Worlds Apart!

Hi everyone!



We are all missing our friends, family, teachers and everyone who makes our lives even just a little bit better everyday. We know we have to be separate, for now, to stay safe. But it sure is not easy! I thought of this song that I remember learning years ago, actually when I was in college. It is called Worlds Apart and it is from a Broadway Musical called Big River. Big River is a musical based on the book Huckleberry Finn. Have any of you read it? This song is sung between two characters from the book, Jim and Huck and talks about what they have in common, even among all their differences.


So, I made a video for you of me singing the song, and playing piano! Please be kind as this is my very first attempt at making something like this, and it took some bravery to put myself out there like this. Click on this link:



Here are the lyrics:

JIM:

I see the same stars through my window

That you see through yours

But we're worlds apart

Worlds apart

And I see the same skies through brown eyes

That you see through blue

But we're worlds apart, worlds apart

Just like the earth, just like the sun

Two worlds together are better than one

I see the sun rise in your eyes

That you see in mine

But we're worlds apart, worlds apart


HUCK:

I see the same stars through my window

That you see through yours

But we're worlds apart, worlds apart


BOTH:

And you see the same skies through brown eyes

That I see through blue

But we're worlds apart, worlds apart

Just like the earth, just like the sun

Two worlds together are better than one

I see the friendship in your eyes

That you see in mine

But we're worlds apart, worlds apart

Together, but worlds apart.



If you are interested in more information about Big River, feel free to do a google search for the musical, or check for videos on Youtube!

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page